Experiencing Cindy Sherman

I am in the main gallery room when you first walk into the exhibit with the the mural that stretches from floor to ceiling with a multitude of different characters all being portrayed by Cindy Sherman. The first room is the most crowded and I am not able to analyze the mural as closely as I would like as well as take the proper photographs.

I move on to the second room in the exhibit and am immediately intrigued.ย Every corner of the room is full of dark, fantastic caricatures of clowns. I am halfway through this gallery when one photograph causedย me to stop and do a double take. It is a double photograph of a twoย clowns. They are in two separate frames facing away from each other. The clown on the leftย appears to be distraught and gazing off into the distance. He is holding a balloon animal and the makeup on its face make it appear as if he is crying. It is not clear if the clown on the right is a man or a woman. It appears to me as if it s a man playing a woman. He is sitting defiantly with itsย arms crossed and eyes closed. Hisย makeup makes his mouth form into one straight, un-smiling line.

This specific photograph caught my eye because it is one of the only double portraits that I saw throughout the whole gallery. More importantly, this photograph made me want to know the background story of these bizarre characters. It elicited an emotion of empathy for the clown on the leftย and curiosity as to what the other clown was so resistant to.

cindy sherman 13

Leave a comment